Halliburton Labs Advisory Board

The Halliburton Labs Advisory Board provides strategic guidance and selects companies to participate in the accelerator program.

Our Mission is Clear

Jeff Miller

Jeff Miller is Chairman of the Board of Directors, President, and Chief Executive Officer of Halliburton, where he leads the Executive Committee.

Since joining Halliburton in 1997, Mr. Miller has served in several roles, including Chief Operating Officer. In this capacity, he was responsible for developing and executing the Company’s operational strategy and aligning short- and long-term objectives with the Company’s overall strategy.

Mr. Miller holds a Bachelor of Science in agriculture and business from McNeese State University in Louisiana, and a Master of Business Administration from Texas A&M University. He is a certified public accountant and a member of the Advisory Council for Texas A&M University Dwight Look College of Engineering.

Dale Winger

Dale is excited to help accelerate the growth of innovative, early-stage companies using Halliburton’s facilities, technical expertise, and business network. As Managing Director, Dale has leadership responsibility for Halliburton Labs. Dale is a member of the Halliburton Labs Advisory Board, and is passionate about our mission to advance cleaner, affordable energy. Dale most recently served as vice president for Halliburton’s specialty chemicals business. Dale joined Halliburton in 2014, after several years at a leading global chemicals and materials science company. Dale holds a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Reginald DesRoches

Reginald (Reggie) DesRoches is Rice University’s Provost and serves as Professor of Civil & Environmental Engineering, and Mechanical Engineering. In November 2021, DesRoches was named the next president of Rice University, a position he will assume in July 2022. As the University’s chief academic officer, Reggie works closely with the president to advance the University’s teaching, research, and service mission. He leads the strategic efforts to ensure that the academic and research programs are world-class, and aligned with the university’s commitment to diversity, inclusion, and equity. These responsibilities include leading academic programs and initiatives across the University’s seven schools, which serve 7000 students, and numerous centers and institutes. He previously served as the William and Stephanie Sick Dean of Engineering at the George R. Brown School of Engineering at Rice University. In this position, he provided leadership to a top-ranked engineering school with nine departments, 140 faculty, and 2500 students.

His primary research interests are in the design of resilient infrastructure systems under extreme loads and the application of smart materials, where he has published over 300 articles. Reggie is a fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the society’s Structural Engineering Institute. He received the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) in 2002 — the highest honor bestowed upon scientists and engineers in the early stages of their careers. Most recently, he was a recipient of the Distinguished Arnold Kerr Lecturer Award in 2019, the John A. Blume Distinguished Lecturer in 2018, as well as the 2018 Earthquake Engineering Research Institute Distinguished Lecturer Award – one the highest honors in the earthquake engineering field.

John Grotzinger

John Grotzinger is a geologist interested in the evolution of sedimentary basins, hydrocarbon reservoir systems, and the robotic exploration of Mars. He has worked in energy exploration in sedimentary basins in northwestern Canada, northern Siberia, southern Africa, the western United States, and the Middle East. He received his B.Sc. in geoscience from Hobart College in 1979, an M.Sc. in geology from the University of Montana, and a Ph.D. in geology from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1985. He joined the MIT faculty in 1988, working on a variety of problems in sedimentary geology, including an early synthesis of microbialite reservoir systems.

In 2005, he moved from MIT to Caltech, where he is the Fletcher Jones Professor of Geology. He is a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences and received the 2012 Halbouty Award of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Between 2007–2014, he served as the Chief Scientist for NASA’s Curiosity Mars rover mission for which he received NASA’s Distinguished Public Service Medal in 2013. From 2014–2019 he served on the Science Advisory Board for Shell International Exploration and Production. He currently serves as the Chair for Caltech’s Division of Geological and Planetary Sciences.

Walter Isaacson

Walter Isaacson is the Leonard Lauder Professor of American History and Values at Tulane. He previously served as the chief executive officer of the Aspen Institute, where he is now a Distinguished Fellow. Mr. Isaacson has also held positions as the chairman of CNN and the editor of TIME magazine. Walter’s written works include his most recent biography, Leonardo da Vinci (2017), The Innovators: How a Group of Hackers, Geniuses, and Geeks Created the Digital Revolution (2014), Steve Jobs (2011), Einstein: His Life and Universe (2007), Benjamin Franklin: An American Life (2003), and Kissinger: A Biography (1992), and coauthor of The Wise Men: Six Friends and the World They Made (1986). He is a host of the show “Amanpour and Company” on PBS and CNN, a contributor to CNBC, and host of the podcast “Trailblazers, from Dell Technologies.” He is a graduate of Harvard College and of Pembroke College of Oxford University.

He began his career at The Sunday Times of London and then the New Orleans Times-Picayune. He joined TIME in 1978 and served as a political correspondent, national editor, and editor of digital media before becoming the magazine’s 14th editor in 1996. He became chairman and CEO of CNN in 2001, and then president and CEO of the Aspen Institute in 2003. He is chair emeritus of Teach for America. From 2005-2007 he was the vice-chair of the Louisiana Recovery Authority, which oversaw the rebuilding after Hurricane Katrina. He was appointed by President Barack Obama and confirmed by the Senate to serve as the chairman of the Broadcasting Board of Governors, which runs Voice of America, Radio Free Europe, and other international broadcasts of the United States, a position he held from 2009 to 2012. He had been a member of the New Orleans City Planning Commission.

He is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the Royal Society of the Arts, and the American Philosophical Society. He is a fellow of Lowell House at Harvard and of Pembroke College at Oxford. He serves on the board of United Airlines, Bloomberg Philanthropies, the Society of American Historians, New Schools for New Orleans, the U.S. Defense Department Innovation Board, and My Brother’s Keeper Alliance. He is an advisory partner at Perella Weinberg, a financial services firm based in New York City.